

Minutes

Name of meeting APPEALS SUB COMMITTEE

Date and Time THURSDAY 3 AUGUST 2023 COMMENCING AT 10.00 AM

Venue CONFERENCE ROOM 4, COUNTY HALL, NEWPORT, ISLE OF

WIGHT

Present Cllrs J Bacon (Vice-Chairman), V Churchman and P Spink

Also Present Ben Gard, Sarah Linington, Regan Matthews and Dean

Thistlewood

Also Present (Virtual)

Apologies Cllrs

1. Apologies and Changes in Membership (if any)

Cllr P Spink attended as a substitute for Cllr D Adams.

2. Minutes

RESOLVED:

THAT the minutes of the meeting held on 23 March 2023 be approved, subject to the amendment of the first part of Minute 24 to read "The appellant was not in attendance. Consideration was given to an appeal relating to Home to School Transport."

3. **Declarations of Interest**

No declarations were received at this stage.

4. Exclusion of the Public and Press

RESOLVED:

THAT, under Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public and press be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business, namely minute number 24, on the grounds that there is likely to be the disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Act

and in all circumstances of the case, the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information.

5. Report of the Director of Children's Services

6. **05-2023**

The appellant was unable to attend the hearing. Consideration was given to an appeal relating to Home to School Transport. Following oral representations by the Children's Services representative and SEN specialist questions were asked by members of the Sub Committee. The Sub-Committee, when considering their decision, also took into consideration the late evidence with additional information provided by the parents.

RESOLVED:

To dismiss the appeal on the grounds of route safety, but to uphold the appeal on the grounds of exceptional circumstances and such transport as the council considers necessary to secure home-to-school transport will be provided for the academic year 2023/2024.

CHAIRMAN